Ludlow announces squad for October training camp
20 September 2018

Ludlow announces squad for October training camp

After narrowly missing out on a place in France for next year’s Women’s World Cup, Wales manager Jayne Ludlow is going full steam ahead with preparation for the 2021 UEFA European Championship Qualifiers, starting with a four-day training camp for 26 players.

FIFA 2019 WWC Qualifiers

Inspiring a new generation

  • 2nd in the group, Wales' highest ever finish.
  • 7 consecutive clean sheets.
  • 5,053 attendance, highest home crowd for a Wales Women's match.

Ludlow has recalled the majority squad that faced England last month, including Sophie Ingle, Angharad James and Natasha Harding, while players based abroad are being rested after an intense 2018. Some of the squad’s younger contingent will miss the camp after being picked for the U19s side travelling to Armenia for the UEFA 2019 Qualifying Round while USA based Jess Fishlock and Peyton Vincze are being rested.

Despite the disappointment of missing out on a place in France, Ludlow’s already looking to the future. “We are already preparing for the next competition and all our camps over the next year will be to ensure we are in the best possible position at the start of the campaign to compete for a place in the Euros.”


We have some new faces in the squad. It's a great opportunity for them and hopefully it will help develop them as players over the coming months as we prepare for the next campaign.

– Jayne Ludlow

Midfielder Charlie Estcourt returns to the squad after missing the last three matches through injury and there will also be some additional faces joining up with the squad between 2-6 October. Ludlow has called up Tottenham Hotspur trio Josie Green, Anna Filbey and Megan Wynne while Emma Jones will be joining up with the squad from Linkopings FC in Sweden.

Following the training camp, the squad will play a number of friendly matches as they prepare for the next qualifying campaign. Matches will take place over the next eight months and will be announced in due course.

Squad: Laura O’Sullivan (Cardiff City Ladies), Claire Skinner (Cardiff City FC), Deanna Lewis (Cyncoed), Poppy Soper (Cardiff City Ladies), Sophie Ingle (Chelsea), Hayley Ladd (Birmingham City), Loren Dykes (Bristol City), Rachel Rowe (Reading), Rhiannon Roberts (Liverpool), Natasha Harding (Reading), Angharad James (Everton), Charlie Estcourt (Reading), Kylie Nolan (Cardiff City Ladies), Kayleigh Green (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hannah Miles (Cardiff City Ladies), Helen Ward (Watford), Cori Williams (Cardiff City Ladies), Kelly Isaac (Cardiff City Ladies), Gemma Evans (Bristol City), Megan Wynne (Tottenham Hotspur), Amelia Ritchie (Charlton Athletic), Anna Filbey (Tottenham Hotspur), Emma Jones (Linkopings FC), Josie Green (Tottenham Hotspur), Nadia Lawrence (Cardiff City Ladies), Carrie Jones (Wales Performance Squad)