Result of the FAW tier 2 ground critieria appeals body
16 May 2018

Result of the FAW tier 2 ground critieria appeals body

The FAW Tier 2 Ground Criteria Appeals Body met in Cardiff today (16th May) to consider an appeal from one club, Pontypridd Town FC.

Pontypridd Town FC were initially refused Tier 2 Certification by the Independent Tier 2 First Instance Body on 3rd May 2018 and submitted their appeal in accordance with the FAW Tier 2 Ground Criteria Regulations.

The Club’s application was again assessed at Leckwith Stadium, Cardiff.

The Independent Appeals Body considered all of the evidence presented within the Pontypridd Town FC appeal and have now awarded the Club, Tier 2 certification for the 2018 / 19 season. FAW Tier 2 Certification is mandatory to participate in Tier 2 of the FAW Pyramid for the 2018 / 19 season.

Therefore, following the conclusion of the Tier 2 Certification cycle, the following has been decided by the First Instance and Appeals Bodies:

FAW Tier 2 Certified Clubs 2018/19

Huws Gray Alliance League:

  1. Airbus Broughton
  2. Caernarfon Town – promoted to JD Welsh Premier League
  3. Caersws                                   
  4. Denbigh Town                                     
  5. Flint Town United
  6. Gresford Athletic                     
  7. Guilsfield        
  8. Holyhead Hotspur                                           
  9. Holywell Town
  10. Penrhyncoch                           
  11. Porthmadog                                        
  12. Rhyl                             
  13. Ruthin Town    

*In addition, Bangor City and Prestatyn Town, who have been relegated from the JD Welsh Premier League, meet the Tier 1 Regulations for their stadium and by virtue also meet the Tier 2 Regulations.

Welsh Football League Division 1:

  1. Afan Lido
  2. Briton Ferry Llansawel 
  3. Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
  4. Cwmamman United
  5. Cwmbran Celtic - certified to play home matches at Goytre FC
  6. Haverfordwest County 
  7. Goytre
  8. Goytre United 
  9. Llanelli Town – promoted to JD Welsh Premier League                                       
  10. Penybont        
  11. Port Talbot Town                                 
  12. Taffs Well        
  13. Ton Pentre
  14. Undy Athletic  


The following Tier 3 clubs were also granted Tier 2 certification for the 2018/19 season.

Welsh Football League – Division 2:

  1. Aberdare Town
  2. Ammanford – certified to play home matches at Briton Ferry Llansawel FC
  3. Garden Village 
  4. Llantwit Major  
  5. Pontypridd Town  - certified to play home matches at Leckwith Stadium, Cardiff                  
  6. Risca United    
  7. STM Sports – certified to play home matches at Taffs Well FC

 Welsh Alliance League:

  1. Conwy Borough
  2. Llangefni Town

 Welsh National League – Premier Division:

  1. Brickfield Rangers
  2. Buckley Town

 Mid Wales League:

  1. Llanfair United
  2. Llanidloes Town                                  
  3. Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant – certified to play home matches at Llansantffraid Village FC


Of the remaining applications, the following clubs were not granted Tier 2 Certification for the 2018/19 season:

  1. FC Queens Park (Huws Gray Alliance)
  2. Caerau Ely (Welsh Football League)
  3. Monmouth Town (Welsh Football League)
  4. Abergavenny Town (Welsh Football League)
  5. Caldicot Town (Welsh Football League)
  6. Pontardawe Town (Welsh Football League)
  7. Llanrug United (Welsh Alliance League)
  8. Corwen (Welsh National League)
  9. Llanuwchllyn (Welsh National League)
  10. Chirk AAA (Welsh National League)
  11. Berriew (Mid Wales League)
  12. Carno (Mid Wales League)
  13. Knighton Town (Mid Wales League)
  14. Llandrindod Wells (Mid Wales League)
  15. Welshpool Town (Mid Wales League)

The Joint Liaison Committee will meet on 31st May to confirm all of the promotion / relegation in accordance with the FAW Pyramid Regulations.