Wales discover Toulon Tournament opponents
14 April 2017

Wales discover Toulon Tournament opponents

Wales will face France, Ivory Coast and Bahrain when they compete in this year’s Toulon Tournament.

It will be Wales’ first appearance in the prestigious Under-20 tournament, which kicks off on May 29.

Host nation France have the most coveted record in Toulon, winning the tournament on 12 occasions – most notably between 2004 and 2007 when they won it four years in a row.

Another of Wales’ group opponents, Ivory Coast, were crowned winners of the tournament back in 2010, while Bahrain will be featuring for the first time.

This will be the 45th edition of Toulon with 12 teams taking part in three groups of four, and the group winners as well as the best second-placed team will qualify for the semi-finals.

Group A: England, Japan, Angola, Cuba

Group B: France, Ivory Coast, WALES, Bahrain

Group C: Brazil, Czech Republic, Scotland, Indonesia

The tournament runs from 29 May until 10 June and fixture details will be confirmed in due course.