Wales U18 Academy Squad Announced for Ireland Fixtures
14 February 2018

Wales U18 Academy Squad Announced for Ireland Fixtures

Manager Mark Pike has named his Wales U18 academy squad for the upcoming fixtures against the Republic of Ireland later this month as the side look to reclaim the John Coughlan Memorial Cup in the annual double-header. 

Pike has named a 20-man squad that is well-represented by JD Welsh Premier League champions The New Saints ahead of the fixtures that will take place on the 20 and 22 February.

The squad will get together on Sunday, 18 February where they will train at Liverpool FC’s Academy in the afternoon before flying out to Ireland the following day.

Selected from players involved in the domestic academy system, the team has received additional support from the Football Association of Wales this year, and as a result Pike and his staff have enjoyed the benefits of additional contact time with the players over the course of the last few months.

In addition, the squad have also tested themselves against some of the best professional academies in Wales in the build-up to these two games.

“It’s about development and giving that second chance to elite players within the academy system here in Wales,” explained Pike to “We are looking to win both games and play in the right style. We have prepared the players well, trained extremely hard, and they know what to expect.

"There is a huge appetite within the FAW to see this team grow and the objective of this group is to give players the opportunity to play at the highest level they can.”


Alex Pennock (Aberystwyth Town)

Lee Jenkins (Aberystwyth Town)

Liam Doherty (Aberystwyth Town)

Harri Horwood (Aberystwyth Town)

Toby Vickery (Airbus Uk Broughton)

Charlie Williams (Bala Town)

Lewys Turner (Bala Town)

Guto Williams (Bangor City)

Geraint Jones (Bangor City)

Callum Flynn (Barry Town United) 

Samuel Reynolds (Connah’s Quay Nomads)

Charlie Hughes (Flint Town United)

Alaric Jones (Haverfordwest County)

Harri Jones (Llandudno)

Christopher Craven (The New Saints)

Robert Reynolds (The New Saints)

Lewis Dutton (The New Saints)

Callum Jones (The New Saints)

James Parry (The New Saints)

Tomos Williams (The New Saints)