Blaenrhondda lead the shocks in JD Welsh Cup First Round
20 October 2018

Blaenrhondda lead the shocks in JD Welsh Cup First Round

Sixth-tier Blaenrhondda AFC led the shocks in Saturday's JD Welsh Cup First Round action as they beat Garden Village 2-1. 

Goals from Huw Bowtell and Steve Jones gave the South Wales Alliance League Division 1 side a famous victory over their Tier 3 opponents, and sealed a place in Monday lunchtime's Second Round draw. 

The biggest shocks of the afternoon came in the south as three Welsh Football League Division 1 sides (Tier 2) were dumped out by lower league opponents. Three times JD Welsh Cup runners-up Cwmbran Town - who are now playing in the Tier 5 Gwent County First Division – beat 2007 runners-up Afan Lido 3-2, Danny Jenkins, Owen Llewellyn and Logan Hayes with the goals for the Crows.

Ynysddu Welfare have already made headlines in the FAW Youth Cup this season and they wrote another page in their history today, claiming the scalp of Taffs Well. The Caerphilly-based side, also of the Gwent County League D1, won 2-1 thanks to goals from Leigh Sharp and Kane Jones. Meanwhile at Ivor Park in Pontyclun, the Tier 4 hosts dumped a third Tier 2 outfit, Llantwit Major out with a 3-1 win.  

There was late heartbreak for Welsh National League side Coedpoeth United, as they conceded two goals in time added on, to end their dreams of a Cup upset. Despite struggling in their Tier 4 league this season and going down to a 3rd minute Ryan Jones penalty this afternoon, Coed led Tier 2 Ruthin Town 2-1 as the clock ticked into 90 minutes, following second half goals from Curt Griffiths and Oliver Lewis. But goals from Lewys Turner (90+1) and even more dramatically from Osian Davies (90+5) saw the visitors progress.

After a turbulent day yesterday when manager Craig Harrison left the club to join the coaching staff of Connah’s Quay Nomads, the eight-times Cup Winners Bangor City enjoyed a better day today, as they progressed to Round 2 following their 4-2 win over Mold Alexandra. Andy Jones and Les Davies scored in the first half for the Citizens, after Terry Pughe had given Alex a surprise lead. Second-half goals from Davies and Alex Darlington ensured the Citizens will be in Monday’s draw.

Huws Gray Alliance leaders Airbus UK Broughton have won all ten League fixtures to date, so its no surprise that they progressed this afternoon, winning 4-0 at Penycae. Joe Chaplin scored the opening goal for Steve O’Shaugnessy’s side on 40 minutes and the Wingmakers netted a further three after the break through Leo Riley, Christian Platter and a second Chaplin effort. 

In a dramatic game at the Recreation Ground in Caersws, visitors Holywell Town led 2-0 with 88 minutes played, but a double salvo for the Bluebirds from Elliot Jones and Ryan Davies sent the match into extra-time. Josh Jones then scored an extra time winner for the Tier 3 MMP Mid Wales League side, who knocked out their Tier 2 visitors.

Sporting a pink kit for the Tenovus Charity, it was a day to remember for Ton Pentre who claimed their first home win at Ynys Park since March 2017. The Bulldogs beat Tier 5 Pencoed AAA of the South Wales Alliance League 3-1 with goals from debutant Leroy Thomas, Alex Davies and Leon Jacka. 

Tier 2 Briton Ferry Llansawel were tested by Tier 3 Caerau Ely, but Carl Shaw’s side progressed thanks to a solitary Daniel Kingdom goal. In the all-South Wales Alliance League clash between Sully Sports and Brecon Corries, it was the hosts from the Vale of Glamorgan that progressed with a 3-1 win as Darren Townsend (2) and Will Gale scored.

The most goals of the day were scored at Central Park in Denbigh as the hosts scored nine against Holyhead Town, who scored three in the first half themselves. Mark Roberts claimed a JD Welsh Cup hat-trick for the Huws Gray Alliance side.

JD Welsh Cup R1: Results

Bangor City 4-2 Mold Alexandra

Berriew 2-2 Penrhyncoch (AET) – Berriew win 5-4 on penalties

Briton Ferry Llansawel 1-0 Caerau Ely 

Buckley Town 3-1 Brymbo FC

Caersws 3-2 Holywell Town (AET)

Cambrian & Clydach BGC 5-0 Port Talbot Town

Cefn Albion 7-1 Dolgellau Athletic

Coedpoeth United 2-3 Ruthin Town 

Conwy Borough 1-2 Rhyl FC

CPD Pwllheli 0-3 CPD Porthmadog

Cwmamman United 4-0 Dinas Powys

Cwmbran Celtic 3-0 Ammanford 

Cwmbran Town 3-2 Afan Lido

Denbigh Town 9-3 Holyhead Town

Garden Village 1-2 Blaenrhondda

Gresford Athletic 4-3 Brickfield Rangers (AET)

Guilsfield 2-0 Rhostyllen

Hawarden Rangers 2-3 Llanfair United 

Holyhead Hotspur 4-2 Corwen

Llandrindod Wells 1-1 Aberbargoed Buds (AET) – Aberbargoed win 4-3 on penalties

Llandudno Albion 3-4 St Asaph City (AET)

Llandudno Amateurs L-L Dyffryn Nantlle Vale 

Llangefni Town 2-0 Borth United

Llanidloes Town 1-2 Pontypridd Town

Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant 1-2 Flint Town United

Llay Welfare 2-0 Rhydymwyn

Panteg 1-3 Penybont

Penlan Club 0-1 Goytre United

Penycae 0-4 Airbus UK Broughton

Pontyclun 3-1 Llantwit Major

Prestatyn Town 5-1 New Brighton Villa

Radnor Valley 1-2 Goytre FC

STM Sports 1-2 Haverfordwest County

Sully Sports 3-1 Brecon Corries

Ton Pentre 3-1 Pencoed Athletic

Trefelin BGC 1-2 Swansea University

Treharris Athletic Western 3-2 Cornelly United

Undy Athletic 3-4 Monmouth Town

West End 0-6 Caldicot Town

Ynysddu Welfare 2-1 Taffs Well