Bodin selects U21 squad to face Bosnia & Herzegovina
25 August 2020

Bodin selects U21 squad to face Bosnia & Herzegovina

Squad Update

30 August 20208:41pm

Brennan Johnson and Ben Woodburn have been called up to the senior squad and replaced in the U21s by James Waite and Siôn Spence.

Squad Update

28 August 20209:38am

Jack Vale has withdrawn from next week's U21 squad due to an injury and will be replaced by Oli Cooper.

Cymru Under 21 manager Paul Bodin has named a 20-man squad to face Bosnia & Herzegovina in Zenica for their UEFA U21 EURO 2021 qualifying round match.

Cymru’s second youngest-ever goalscorer Ben Woodburn will be part of the U21s for the first time, alongside Luke Jephcott who also receives his first call-up. The 20-year-old striker from Aberystwyth won the EFL League Two Player of the month as well as the EFL Young Player of the Month in January for his performances with Plymouth Arygle. Cymru U19s captain Morgan Boyes also joins up with the U21s for the first time. The defender was due to feature in this month’s U19 Elite Round, which has now been postponed until October.

Full backs Rhys Norrington-Davies and Ben Williams, who were both part of the squad for the 1-0 win in last November’s fixture against the same opposition, miss out due to injury.

It was a tough game but a good win against them at home. Since lockdown, some of the players like Liam Cullen and Brennan Johnson have featured for their first teams which is a positive but there are also players that are coming in that won’t be 100% fit. We will have to be organised and have a positive mindset, hopefully we will come back with the right result.

– Paul Bodin

The match will be Cymru’s fifth game in the UEFA U21 EURO 2021 qualifying campaign. Cymru currently sit in third place after two wins and two draws, one point behind group leaders Belgium.

A change in format to the qualifying round due to the COVID-19 pandemic now means the nine group winners and five best runners-up will be joined by hosts Hungary and Slovenia in the finals, with no play-off route. The finals will consist of a group stage of four groups of four from 24 to 31 March 2021, from which the four group winners and four runners-up will then qualify for the final tournament which will be played as a straight knockout final eight, from 31 May to 6 June 2021.

U21 Squad Bosnia & Herzegovina v Cymru.png

Adam PRZYBEK (Ipswich Town), George RATCLIFFE (Cardiff City), Cameron COXE (Solihill Borough), Brandon COOPER (Swansea City), Regan POOLE (Milton Keynes Dons), Jack EVANS (Swansea City), Joe LEWIS (Swansea City), Terry TAYLOR (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Nathan BROADHEAD (Everton), Robbie BURTON (Dinamo Zagreb), Morgan BOYES (Fleetwood Town- On loan from Liverpool), Liam CULLEN (Swansea City), Harry CLIFTON (Grimsby Town), Jack VALE (Blackburn Rovers), Aaron LEWIS (Lincoln City), Luke JEPHCOTT (Plymouth Argyle), Mark HARRIS (Cardiff City), Ben WOODBURN (Liverpool), Brennan JOHNSON (Nottingham Forest), Ryan STIRK (Birmingham City)