21 September 2019


Squad update

27 September 20193:22pm

Anais Trinci has been added to the squad. Mia North replaces Poppy Soper.

The 18-player squad that will represent Cymru in the #WU19EURO qualifying round in October has been announced.

#WU19EURO Fixtures

Northern Ireland v Cymru

19:30 02/10 Shamrock Park

Cymru v Norway

14:00 05/10 Shamrock Park

Cymru v Modlova

08/10 14:00 Soltitude Cliftonville

The side will travel to Northern Ireland where they will face the hosts as well as Norway and Moldova. The squad features several players who have already experienced tournament football with Cymru for the age groups while Grace Horrell and Alice Griffiths have both represented the senior team in the last eighteen months. Three players from the Orchard WPWL have also been selected to represent their country.

Claire O’Sullivan and James Thomas will be taking charge of the team as Jayne Ludlow and her coaching staff will be in Belarus for the senior side’s UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 qualifying round match on Tuesday 8 October. O’Sullivan has previously worked with the squad in several training camps and worked with the WU19 side that reached the elite round in last year’s competition.

The top two sides in every group plus the four third-placed teams with the best record against the top two in their section go into the elite round draw on 21 November 2019, with those games taking place in spring 2020. Seven teams will then join Georgia in the finals in July 2020.

We can't wait to get the tournament started. We've been working hard for the last three months. Most of the squad already have tournament experience and this will all bring valuable experience to our group with the hope of qualifying for the elite round.

– Claire O'Sullivan

Olivia CLARK (Huddersfield Town Ladies FC), Poppy SOPER (Cyncoed Ladies FC), Hayley HOARE (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Esther MORGAN (Chelsea FC Women), Morgan ROGERS (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Josie LONGHURST (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Cerys JONES (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Josie SMITH (Everton Ladies FC), Sophie NORMAN (Cardiff City FC Women), Phoebe HAMPSON (Everton Ladies FC), Alice GRIFFITHS (Charlton Athletic Women FC), Rhianne OAKLEY (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Emily JONES (Lewes FC Women), Lucia CARPANINI (Bristol City Women FC), Caitlin WILLIAMS (Cyncoed Ladies FC), Charlotte HARRIS (Manchester City Women FC), Grace HORRELL (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Ellie-Mai SANFORD (Bristol City Ladies FC)