FAW Awards Evening 2014
2 October 2014

FAW Awards Evening 2014

A gala evening at the St.David's Hotel, Cardiff Bay for the 2013-14 Awards, sponsored by Vauxhall.

Gareth Bale has been voted the FA of Wales player of the year for the fourth time, setting a new record, overtaking both Mark Hughes and John Hartson who each won the award three times.

The Real Madrid star retained the trophy at the FAW awards dinner at Cardiff’s St.|Davids Hotel and has now won it four times in the past five years.

The 25 year-old has had a marvellous year: winning the Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup as well as the Copa del Rey.

Consistently his performances for Wales have caught the eye. He scored both goals in the opening UEFA qualifier in Andorra and has now netted ten times in his last 11 internationals.

Bale also picked up the Vauxhall Fans Player of the Year trophy for the fourth year in succession, while three more of the main awards were retained by last year’s winners.

Ben Davies took the Young Player of the Year award, having now made a big money move to Spurs.

Davies’ former Swansea team-mate Ashley Williams was again rewarded for his sterling performances for the Liberty Stadium club by winning the Club Player of the Year award for the fourth year on the trot.

Jess Fishlock, also retained her crown as women’s player of the year for the fourth time in success. The Wales captain, now with Frankfurt, came so close to leading Wales into at least a World Cup play-off match.

The Women’s Young Player of the Year went to Angharad James, last year’s club player of the year.

Michelle Green, who made her Wales debut in 2001, was rewarded with the Women’s Club Player of the Year, the Cardiff City player now being the most capped Wales player of all time, her 95 caps overtaking Neville Southall’s 92 for the men’s team.

Another long serving player, New Saints midfielder Scott Ruscoe, was named Welsh Premier Clubman of the Year. Ruscoe, has made over 250 appearances for the club since joining them 14 years ago.

Two FAW long service awards were made, with former Wales skipper Kevin Ratcliffe taking the accolade for the men’s game, while Swansea City Ladies secretary Julie Lowe won the women’s award.

A special award was also made to Jarmo Matikainen, the outgoing national women’s team manager.


FAW Awards Evening 2014
FAW Awards Evening 2014
FAW Awards Evening 2014
FAW Awards Evening 2014
FAW Awards Evening 2014