FAW Tier 1 Licence Applicants Confirmed
About FAW
5 October 2021

FAW Tier 1 Licence Applicants Confirmed

Twenty-six clubs have applied for the FAW Tier 1 Licence for the 2022/23 season, which is a prerequisite for participation in the JD Cymru Premier. 

All 12 JD Cymru Premier clubs have applied, along with six clubs from JD Cymru North and eight clubs from JD Cymru South. 

Guilsfield, Llantwit Major and Pontypridd Town are applying for the Tier 1 Licence for the very first time. 

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. 




JD Cymru Premier (Tier 1)

Aberystwyth Town 

Bala Town

Barry Town United

Caernarfon Town 

Cardiff Met

Cefn Druids 

Connah’s Quay Nomads 

Flint Town United

Haverfordwest County 



The New Saints 


JD Cymru North (Tier 2)

Airbus UK Broughton 

Bangor City 

Buckley Town 

Colwyn Bay 



JD Cymru South (Tier 2)


Briton Ferry Llansawel 

Cambrian & Clydach Vale 

Carmarthen Town 

Llanelli Town 

Llantwit Major 

Pontypridd Town 

Taffs Well 



Clubs in Tier 1 and Tier 2 had until 30 September to submit their applications for a Tier 1 Licence for the 2022/23 season. The confirmed applicants are detailed above. 

During October, November and December, site visits to their stadia will be arranged and club audits will be completed, including the assessment of their licensing documentation. 

By 1 March 2022, any ground sharing agreements must be submitted in accordance with the FAW Pyramid Regulations. From 28 to 31 March, if required, final infrastructure assessments will take place.

All club licensing documentation must be finalised and submitted to the FAW by 31 March 2022. 

The full Tier 1 Club Licensing Core Process can be viewed by clicking the button below.

Club Licensing Core Process



Clubs are assessed on the following criteria: 

  • Sporting: Youth & Coaching
  • Infrastructure 
  • Legal 
  • Personnel & Administration 
  • Financial and Codes of Practice 

An independent First Instance Body (FIB), consisting of experts with relevant experience, will sit on 7 April 2022 to assess the applicants against the criteria detailed above. The decisions of the FIB will be communicated to the applicants on the same day. 

For those clubs who have failed to attain the Tier 1 Licence, the FIB will provide written reasons for their failure and the club(s) will be invited to submit an appeal by 17 April 2022. 

An independent Appeals Body, also consisting of experts, will sit to consider the appeals on 21 April 2022. Decision will be communicated to the appellants on the same day. The decision of the Appeals Body is final. 



The Tier 1 Club Licensing Regulations sets out quality standards and procedures by which clubs will be assessed as a basis for continuous improvement of many aspects of football.

The FAW approved the Tier 1 system on 6 December 2005, when the FAW Council agreed the same Criteria subjects as UEFA Licensing. This decision was made following a consultation exercise with a variety of bodies.

FAW Tier 1 Licensing Regulations