FAW Tier 1 & UEFA Club Licensing Decisions 2019
About FAW
4 April 2019

FAW Tier 1 & UEFA Club Licensing Decisions 2019

The FAW Club Licensing First Instance Body has met today (4 April 2019) to consider UEFA and FAW Tier 1 applications for the 2019/20 season.

The meeting took place at FAW HQ in Cardiff to assess and consider the 12 UEFA and 17 FAW Tier 1 applications.

Sixteen of the 17 applications for a Tier 1 licence have been successful. This includes Airbus UK Broughton, Flint Town United and Rhyl of the Huws Gray Alliance League. Haverfordwest County and Penybont of the Nathaniel Cars Welsh Football League also achieved their Tier 1 licenses. 

As a result, Airbus UK’s promotion to the JD Welsh Premier League is confirmed and they will be joined by Haverfordwest or Penybont should they achieve it through their league position. 

Eleven of the current JD Welsh Premier League sides were awarded the Tier 1 Licence. Ten of the clubs also achieved a UEFA Licence. 

Clubs are assessed on the following criteria:

  • Sporting: Youth & Coaching
  • Infrastructure
  • Legal
  • Personnel & Administration
  • Financial and Codes of Practice

An FAW Tier 1 Licence is required for clubs to participate in the JD Welsh Premier League and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite. 

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards. 

Following today’s meeting, the independent First Instance Body has decided on the following:

FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2019/20 Season (10 clubs)

  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Bala Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Cardiff Met
  • Carmarthen Town
  • Cefn Druids
  • Connah’s Quay Nomads
  • Llandudno
  • Newtown
  • The New Saints

FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2019/20 Season (6 clubs) 

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Caernarfon Town
  • Flint Town United
  • Haverfordwest County 
  • Penybont
  • Rhyl

Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2019/20 Season (1 club)

  • Llanelli Town

Withdrawn Applications (7 clubs)

  • Bangor City
  • Briton Ferry Llansawel
  • Buckley Town
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
  • Holywell Town 
  • Porthmadog
  • Prestatyn Town

The Panel extended its congratulations to those clubs successful in attaining Tier 1 and UEFA licences.

Those clubs who have been refused a Licence by the First Instance Body, have ten days in which to submit an appeal. Should an application of appeal be received by the FAW, an Appeals Body will meet in Cardiff on Thursday, 18 April 2019.