FAW Tier 1 & UEFA Club Licensing Decisions 2020
About FAW
6 April 2020

FAW Tier 1 & UEFA Club Licensing Decisions 2020

The First Instance Body (FIB) met remotely to assess and consider the 12 UEFA and 18 FAW Tier 1 applications.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the FIB Panel took full consideration of any restrictions the clubs may have encountered in their Licence application as a result of the situation.  

Eleven of the 18 applications for a Tier 1 licence have been successful, including 10 of the current JD Cymru Premier clubs and one club in Tier 2. In addition, 9 of the JD Cymru Premier clubs achieved a UEFA Licence. 

Clubs are assessed on the following criteria:

  • Sporting: Youth & Coaching
  • Infrastructure
  • Legal
  • Personnel & Administration
  • Financial and Codes of Practice

The FAW Tier 1 Licence is required for clubs to participate in the JD Cymru Premier and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite. 

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards. 

Following today’s meeting, the independent FIB Panel has decided on the following: 

FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2020/21 Season (9 clubs)

  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Bala Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Caernarfon Town
  • Cardiff Met
  • Carmarthen Town
  • Connah’s Quay Nomads
  • Penybont
  • The New Saints

FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2020/21 Season (2 clubs) 

  • Haverfordwest County 
  • Newtown

Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2020/21 Season (2 clubs) 

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Cefn Druids

Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2020/21 Season (5 clubs)

  • Bangor City 
  • Briton Ferry Llanswel
  • Flint Town United
  • Prestatyn Town
  • Swansea University

Withdrawn Applications (8 clubs)

  • Buckley Town
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC 
  • Colwyn Bay
  • Cwmamman United
  • Llandudno
  • Llanelli
  • Porthmadog
  • Rhyl

The FIB Panel extended its congratulations to those clubs successful in attaining Tier 1 and UEFA licences.

Those clubs who have been refused a Licence by the First Instance Body, have ten days in which to submit an appeal.