Fifty-two clubs apply to new 'FAW Championship' for season 2019/20
About FAW
10 January 2019

Fifty-two clubs apply to new 'FAW Championship' for season 2019/20

Fifty-two clubs have applied for FAW Tier 2 Certification for the 2019/20 season, which is a pre-requisite for participation in the new 'FAW Tier 2 Championship' which begins in August 2019.

All 32 existing Tier 2 clubs successfully applied by the 31 December deadline as well as 20 Tier 3 clubs from across the Welsh Alliance League, Welsh National League, Mid Wales League and Welsh Football League (Division 2). 

This follows 43 successful Tier 2 applications at the end of the previous Tier 2 certification cycle.

FAW Club Licensing Manager Steven Jones, commented: “It was very pleasing to have 43 clubs achieve Tier 2 certification at the end of the last cycle. This was not an easy feat and was down to the hard work and dedication of the clubs”.

“In addition to infrastructure, the FAW have introduced additional Tier 2 criteria relating to personnel at clubs which will aide in increasing standards even further”.

“I look forward to working closely with all Applicants over the coming months."

Applications have been received from the following clubs:


Huws Gray Alliance League

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Bangor City
  • Buckley Town
  • Conwy Borough
  • Denbigh Town
  • Flint Town United
  • Gresford Athletic
  • Guilsfield
  • Holyhead Hotspur
  • Holywell Town
  • Llanrhaeader 
  • Penrhyncoch
  • Porthmadog
  • Prestatyn Town
  • Rhyl
  • Ruthin Town


Welsh Football League (Division 1)

  • Afan Lido
  • Ammanford Town 
  • Briton Ferry 
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
  • Cwmamman United
  • Cwmbran Celtic 
  • Goytre 
  • Goytre United
  • Haverfordwest County
  • Llantwit Major
  • Penybont
  • Pontypridd Town
  • Port Talbot Town
  • Taffs Well
  • Ton Pentre
  • Undy Athletic


Tier 3 clubs

  • Llangefni Town (Welsh Alliance League)
  • Brickfield Rangers (Welsh National League)
  • Brymbo (Welsh National League)
  • Chirk AAA (Welsh National League)
  • Corwen (Welsh National League)
  • Mold Alexandra (Welsh National League)
  • Berriew (Mid Wales League)
  • Caersws (Mid Wales League)
  • Llandrindod Wells (Mid Wales League)
  • Llanfair United (Mid Wales League)
  • Llanidloes Town (Mid Wales League)
  • Abergavenny Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Caerau Ely (Welsh Football League)
  • Caldicot Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Croesyceiliog (Welsh Football League)
  • Monmouth Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Pontardawe Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Risca United (Welsh Football League)
  • Swansea University (Welsh Football League)
  • STM Sports (Welsh Football League)