Giggs names squad for Croatia and Hungary tests
29 May 2019

Giggs names squad for Croatia and Hungary tests

Ryan Giggs has named a squad of 28 players to face Croatia and Hungary in the upcoming EURO 2020 qualifiers in June.

Wales go to Osijek to play Croatia on Saturday, 8 June before making their way to Budapest for the encounter with Hungary on Tuesday, 11 June. 

Following a successful and productive training camp in Portugal last week, Gareth Bale, David Brooks and Joe Allen lead a strong squad alongside Joe Rodon, Ben Williams and Dylan Levitt, all uncapped at senior international level.

Neil Taylor, Harry Wilson and Tom Lawrence have returned to the squad after the EFL Championship play-off final along with Jonny Williams, who returns to the national set-up after his last appearance in the autumn of 2017.

Ben Woodburn and Ethan Ampadu are also included after being involved in preparations for the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League Finals respectively.

Two notable absentees in the squad to face Croatia and Hungary are Aaron Ramsey and Ben Davies.

Ramsey is currently recovering from injury ahead of a summer move from Arsenal to Juventus and Davies misses out due to an ongoing groin problem, which will be assessed by Tottenham Hotspur after their UEFA Champions League Final against Liverpool.