Licensing Applications Confirmed for Tier 1
About FAW
15 September 2017

Licensing Applications Confirmed for Tier 1

Twenty clubs have applied for the FAW Tier 1 Licence for season 2018/19. The Tier 1 Licence replaces the previous FAW Domestic Licence and is a prerequisite for participation in the JD Welsh Premier League.

In addition to the current 12 JD Welsh Premier League clubs, eight clubs from Tier 2 have applied including; five from the Huws Gray Alliance League and three from the Welsh Football League Division 1.

In addition, all JD Welsh Premier League clubs have applied for the UEFA Licence, which is a prerequisite for clubs wishing to participate in the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League in the 2018/19 season.

The applications follow 16 successful Tier 1 Licensing Applications and 10 successful UEFA applications at the conclusion of the previous licensing process.

FAW Club Licensing Manager Steven Jones, commented:“I am happy with the response form the Tier 2 clubs as it is key to the success of the JD Welsh Premier League that a healthy number of Tier 2 clubs apply and attain the Tier 1 Licence because as well as increasing standards across the board, active promotion and relegation between Tiers 1 and 2 is crucial.

“I look forward to working with those Tier 2 clubs, as well as the JD Welsh Premier League clubs, again this season." 

All applicants are assessed on their infrastructure (stadium), sporting areas such as; youth development, personnel, legal framework and financial management. 

UEFA & Tier 1 Licence Applicants:

Aberystwyth Town FC

Bala Town FC

Bangor City FC

Barry Town United FC

Cardiff Met University FC

Carmarthen Town AFC

Cefn Druids FC

Connah’s Quay Nomads FC

Llandudno FC

Newtown AFC

Prestatyn Town FC

The New Saints FC

Tier 1 Licence Applicants:

Airbus UK Broughton FC (Huws Gray Alliance League)

Caernarfon Town FC (Huws Gray Alliance League)

Flint Town United FC (Huws Gray Alliance League)

Porthmadog FC (Huws Gray Alliance League)

Rhyl FC (Huws Gray Alliance League)

Haverfordwest County AFC (Welsh Football League)

Llanelli Town AFC (Welsh Football League)

Penybont FC (Welsh Football League)