Ludlow announces squad of 27 for Norway encounter
9 September 2020

Ludlow announces squad of 27 for Norway encounter

Jayne Ludlow has named a squad of 27 players as Cymru prepare to face Norway in the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 Qualifying Round.

Norway v Cymru

UEFA Women's EURO 2022 Qualifying Round

  • 17:00 Tuesday 22 September
  • Ullevaal Stadion, Oslo
  • Live on the BBC

Ludlow welcomes back a host of players following a 2-0 win in a friendly against Estonia in March. Cymru’s most-capped international Jess Fishlock returns to the squad following an 18-month absence due to injury, while Elise Hughes and Gemma Evans also return to the squad following injury.

Captain Sophie Ingle is expected to become Cymru’s third centurion by winning her 100th cap in Oslo. The achievement will add to an already successful 2020 for Ingle who has won three domestic trophies for her club Chelsea this year.

Poppy Soper, Cerys Jones and Bethan McGowan, who have all represented the Cymru age groups in the last twelve months, have received their first senior side call-ups.

Megan Wynne misses out after picking up an ACL injury during pre-season, whilst Cymru centurion Loren Dykes is unavailable for selection due to personal reasons.

Twenty of the players selected will travel to Oslo to face Norway on Tuesday 22 September. Cymru currently sit in second place in the group, four points behind the Norwegians with four games remaining. UEFA have confirmed that until further notice all matches will be played behind closed doors due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the play-offs.

Norway Squad Announcement Graphic - Square.png

Cymru: Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Claire SKINNER (Cardiff City Women), Poppy SOPER (Plymouth Argyle), Jess FISHLOCK (Reading- On loan from OL Reign), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea), Hayley LADD (Manchester United), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool), Anna FILBEY (Tottenham Hotspur), Angharad JAMES (Reading), Nadia LAWRENCE (Cardiff City Ladies), Rachel ROWE (Reading), Natasha HARDING (Reading), Elise HUGHES (Everton), Helen WARD (Watford), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion), Josie GREEN (Tottenham Hotspur), Ffion MORGAN (Crystal Palace), Charlie ESTCOURT (London Bees), Lily WOODHAM (Reading), Maria FRANCIS-JONES (Cardiff City Ladies), Kylie NOLAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Carrie JONES (Manchester United), Cerys JONES (Brighton & Hove Albion), Georgia WALTERS (Blackburn Rovers), Chloe WILLIAMS (Manchester United), Bethan MCGOWAN (Unattached)

Jayne Ludlow looks ahead to Norway v Wales
Jayne Ludlow looks ahead to Norway v Wales