Ludlow announces squad for final Euro preparation match
20 May 2019

Ludlow announces squad for final Euro preparation match

Wales manager Jayne Ludlow has named a 20-player squad to face New Zealand on Tuesday 4 June, the side’s final match before the UEFA Women’s Euro 2021 qualification campaign gets underway.

Wales v New Zealand

  • Tuesday 4 June 19:00
  • Leckwith Stadium, Cardiff
  • Tickets available here

Ludlow has made five changes to the side that played out a goalless draw against the Czech Republic in April. Key players Jess Fishlock and Angharad James are being rested after an intense season for both club and country which gives opportunity to several of the squad’s younger players.

Georgia Evans returns to Wales duty for the first time since 2017 while Ludlow has also selected the uncapped Lily Woodham. The defender started in all three of the U19s’ 2019 European qualifying round matches last October.

The squad was announced at Lansdowne School in Cardiff, near Leckwith Stadium. Jayne Ludlow took questions from school children and the media before selected player Kylie Nolan took the children for a coaching session.

The match will be taking place at Leckwith Stadium in Cardiff with the hopes of again surpassing the 2,168-attendance record for a friendly match set in April’s match against the Czech Republic. Ludlow’s side will be facing a strong New Zealand side who will be competing in this year’s Women’s World Cup which kicks off three days after the match.

Tickets for the game are still available and can be purchased at

Squad Announcement New Zealand.png

Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Olivia CLARK (Nettleham Ladies FC), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea FC Women), Hayley LADD (Birmingham City Women FC), Loren DYKES (Bristol City Women FC), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City Women FC), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool FC Women), Lily WOODHAM (Reading FC Women), Natasha HARDING (Reading FC Women), Chloe LLOYD (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Anna FILBEY (Tottenham Hotspur Ladies FC), Kylie NOLAN (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Charlie ESTCOURT (Reading FC Women), Elise HUGHES (Everton Ladies FC), Emma JONES (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Megan WYNNE (Tottenham Hotspur Ladies FC), Helen WARD (Watford FC Ladies), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC), Ella POWELL (Georgia State University), Georgia EVANS (Yeovil Town Ladies FC)