Ludlow names squad for Euro 2021 qualifiers
19 August 2019

Ludlow names squad for Euro 2021 qualifiers

Wales manager Jayne Ludlow has named a 22-player squad for the opening matches of her side’s UEFA Women Euro 2021 qualification campaign.

Next home international

Wales v Northern Ireland

  • 19:05 Tuesday 3 September
  • Rodney Parade, Newport
  • Buy tickets here

Ludlow welcomes back midfield stalwarts Angharad James and Rachel Rowe to face the Faroe Islands and Northern Ireland on 29 August and 3 September respectively. James was rested for Wales’ 1-0 win against 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup side New Zealand in June while Rachel Rowe returns from a lengthy layoff due to an ACL injury. Wales however will be without their most capped player Jess Fishlock who is unavailable until 2020 due to an ACL injury.

Fifteen-year old Carrie Jones will be the youngest member of the squad after receiving her first senior team callup. The midfielder from Newtown has previously trained with the senior squad and has captained Wales at Under 17 level. 

BE_Squad Announcement_Twitter.jpg

Wales will begin their qualifying journey by travelling to the Faroe Islands for the opening match in Torshavn on Thursday 29 August. Five days later captain Sophie Ingle and her team-mates will be playing their first home match of the campaign in Rodney Parade, Newport against Northern Ireland.

Tickets for the Northern Ireland match are still available and can be purchased here.

Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Claire SKINNER (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Olivia CLARK (Huddersfield Town Ladies FC), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea FC Women), Hayley LADD (Manchester United Women FC), Loren DYKES (Bristol City Women FC), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City Women FC), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool FC Women), Charlie ESTCOURT (Charlton Athletic Women FC- On loan from Reading FC Women), Anna FILBEY (Tottenham Hotspur Women FC), Angharad JAMES (Reading FC Women), Elise HUGHES (Everton Ladies FC), Rachel ROWE (Reading FC Women), Carrie JONES (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Natasha HARDING (Reading FC Women), Emma JONES (Lewes FC Women), Megan WYNNE (Tottenham Hotspur Women FC), Helen WARD (Watford FC Ladies), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC), Lily WOODHAM (Charlton Athletic Women FC- On loan from Reading FC Women), Kylie NOLAN (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Ella POWELL (Lewes FC Women)