Ludlow names squad for Northern Ireland qualifer
21 October 2019

Ludlow names squad for Northern Ireland qualifer

Cymru manager Jayne Ludlow has named a 22-player squad to face Northern Ireland in the fourth match of her side’s UEFA Women Euro 2021 qualification campaign.

Northern Ireland v Cymru

UEFA Women's EURO 2021 Qualifying Round

  • Tuesday 12 November 19:45
  • Seaview, Belfast

Ludlow welcomes back captain Sophie Ingle who was forced to withdraw from last month’s 1-0 win against Belarus due to a hip injury. However, one of Cymru’s most experienced players, Natasha Harding, will be unavailable for the match in Belfast after picking up an injury while playing for Reading.

Midfielder Chloe Williams and forward Maria Francis-Jones will be looking to earn their first Cymru caps after going through the age group ranks. Williams was part of the squad that faced Portugal last November while Francis-Jones from Llandiloes was part of the Cymru side which competed in last month’s #WU17EURO qualifying round. The U17s are awaiting confirmation of whether their third-place finish was enough to book a place in the elite round of the competition for the second year running.

Cymru and Northern Ireland have already met in the group stage, where a last-minute equaliser for the visitors meant the spoils were shared in a 2-2 draw at Rodney Parade. Cymru are still unbeaten in the group with two wins and a draw while Northern Ireland have played one game less, including the Cymru draw and a defeat to group leaders Norway.

Squad graphic FINAL.png

Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Claire SKINNER (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Olivia CLARK (Huddersfield Town Ladies FC), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea FC Women), Hayley LADD (Manchester United Women FC), Loren DYKES (Bristol City Women FC), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City Women FC), Nadia LAWRENCE (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool FC Women), Anna FILBEY (Tottenham Hotspur Women FC), Angharad JAMES (Reading FC Women), Elise HUGHES (Everton Ladies FC), Rachel ROWE (Reading FC Women), Megan WYNNE (Tottenham Hotspur Women FC), Helen WARD (Watford FC Ladies), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC), Josie GREEN (Tottenham Hotspur Women FC), Georgia WALTERS (Tranmere Rovers Ladies FC), Kylie Nolan (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Carrie Jones (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Maria Francis-Jones (Cardiff City Ladies FC), Chloe Williams (Manchester United Women FC)