Men's & Women's squads confirmed for UEFA Development Tournament
8 April 2019

Men's & Women's squads confirmed for UEFA Development Tournament

Two Wales squads will be travelling to Bulgaria and Slovenia this week to take part in UEFA U16 Development Tournaments.

UEFA U16 Development Tournament

Men's fixtures

  • Bulgaria 13/04, Northern Ireland 15/04, Luxembourg 17/04

Women's fixtures

  • Sweden 11/04, Slovenia 13/04, Northern Ireland 15/04

Rob Edwards' side will travel to Sliven to face the hosts Bulgaria, Northern Ireland and Luxembourg. Edwards will be joined by U19 manager Paul Bodin and U21 manager Rob Page as the coaching staff look at the next wave of youngsters which will progress through the Welsh pathway.

Meanwhile the women's U16 team will travel to Radgona. They will start their tournament against Sweden before facing the hosts Slovenia and Northern Ireland. James Thomas will take charge of the team alongside assistant manager and former Wales international Kath Morgan.

U17 Austria team-min.JPG

UEFA has set up the development tournaments to offer young footballing talents an additional opportunity to play competitive international matches. The U16 development tournaments are designed to prepare the way for players to move into the U17 age group, where European competition begins in earnest.

Wales U16 Men's Squad

Max WILLIAMS (Salford City), Luca SMITH (Bristol City), Matthew BAKER (Gillingham FC), Jay WILLIAMS (Newport County), Bryce-Howell JONES (Leeds United), Keelan WILLIAMS (Liverpool), Joe PORTON (Bristol City), Jacob EDWARDS (Swansea City), Marcus DACKERS (Brighton and Hove Albion), Patrick JONES (Wrexham), Liam HIGGINS (Everton), Joshua EDWARDS (Swansea City), Jadan RAYMOND (Crystal Palace), Aaron HILLIER (Swansea City), Connor SAILSBURY (Crewe), Ryan VIGGARS (Sheffield United), Robson SHIPLEY (Huddersfield Town), Sam COLLINS (Nottingham Forrest), Cian WILLIAMS (Wrexham), Jamie EGAN (Cabinteely FC)

Wales U16 Women's Squad

Safia MIDDLETON-PATEL (Liverpool FC Women), Ruby BURNELL (Southampton Women’s FC), Maria FRANCIS-JONES (Wales Performance Squad), Grace MORRIS (Aberystwyth Town Ladies FC), Olivia BARNETT (Barry Town Utd Ladies FC), Jessie TAYLOR (Villa Dino FC), Taylor REYNOLDS (Birmingham City Women FC), Ffion SPENCE (Barry Town Utd Ladies FC), Farrah MARTIN (Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC), Carrie JONES (Wales Performance Squad), Bethan MCGOWAN (Penclawdd FC), Zoe SMITH (Barry Town Utd Ladies FC), Lauren PURCHASE (Kuala Lumpur Youth Soccer), Ellie GUNNEY (Sully FC), Ava SUCKLEY (Stoke City Ladies FC), Phoebie POOLE (Barry Town Utd Ladies FC), Ella HUMPHREY (Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC), Ella HILLIARD (Barry Town Utd Ladies FC), Libby ISAAC (Newtown FC), Cerys BEVAN (Swansea City Ladies FC)