Positive performance despite England defeat for U19s
13 October 2020

Positive performance despite England defeat for U19s

The Cymru U19s fell to a 2-0 defeat against England in St. George’s Park despite an impressive performance against one of Europe’s top teams.

England U19 2-0 Cymru U19

St. George's Park, England

  • J Ramsey 37', X Amaechi 41'

Rob Edwards started with a strong squad as part of preparations for next month’s UEFA U19 EURO 2020 Elite Round. Morgan Boyes, Sam Bowen, Ryan Astley, Sam Pearson, Joe Adams and Dan Williams were part of the starting xi after featuring for the Cymru U21 side that faced Belgium last Friday.

Both teams started brightly and looked to attack from the first minute. Joe Adams threatened England from the left wing whilst Dan Williams looked to break through the lines with his forward passing. Despite having a quiet open quarter, goalkeeper Lewis Webb sprang into action with an impressive save after Jacob Ramsey found himself through on goal.

However, minutes later, England took the wind out of Cymru’s sails with two goals in quick succession. A well worked team move led to James Garner’s opener whilst a superb strike from outside the box by Xavier Amaechi doubled the opponents’ lead moments later.

Despite the setback, Cymru continued to play their positive football as the game restarted for the second half. Rob Edwards took full advantage of the in-depth squad and used all substitutes for some valuable game time, including TNS academy graduate Callum Jones for his Cymru U19 debut.

Following a stalemate second half, Cymru will now look ahead to next month’s UEFA U19 EURO 2020 Elite Round as they look to become the first Cymru men’s team to reach an intermediate finals tournament. Rob Edwards’ side will face Germany, Serbia and Austria in a tournament that was originally scheduled to take place in March 2020.

Cymru XI: 1. Lewis Webb (12. Dan Barden 57'), 2. Tivonge Rushesha (19. Iestyn Hughes 70'), 4. Sam Bowen (18. Rhys Hughes 70'), 5. Ryan Astley, 6. Morgan Boyes (c), 7. Sam Pearson (8. Harry Pinchard 57'), 9. Isaak Davies (20. Josh Thomas 57'), 10. Kieron Evans (3. Jacob Jones 65'), 11. Joe Adams, 14. Dan Williams (17. Callum Jones 65'), 15. Cameron Evans (16. Luca Hoole 70')


Yellow Cards: Cameron Evans 7'

IMG_1907.JPG (2).JPG