Squad announced for Faroe Islands & Norway showdowns
15 October 2020

Squad announced for Faroe Islands & Norway showdowns

Jayne Ludlow has named a squad of 26 players as Cymru prepare to face the Faroe Islands and Norway in two key UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 Qualifying Round matches.

UEFA Women's EURO 2022 Qualifying Round

Cymru v Faroe Islands

  • 16;30 22/10 Rodney Parade

Cymru v Norway

  • 16:30 27/10 Cardiff City Stadium

Ludlow has included two players that missed out on the squad that lost 1-0 to Norway in Oslo last month (22 September). Goalkeeper Olivia Clark returns for international duty while 18 year old Josie Longhurst has received her first senior side call-up. Meanwhile Megan Wynne is still unavailable as she continues her recovery from an ACL injury, whilst Cymru centurion Loren Dykes is unavailable for selection due to personal reasons.

A wealth of experience will be involved in the Cymru side including Sophie Ingle, who celebrated becoming Cymru’s third centurion at last month’s match and Jess Fishlock, Cymru’s most capped player.

Cymru will face the Faroe Islands on Thursday 22 October at Rodney Parade. The match against Norway will then take place on Tuesday 27 October, which will now be held at the Cardiff City Stadium. Both matches will kick off at 16:30.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the play-offs.

Cymru: Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Olivia CLARK (Coventry United), Poppy SOPER (Plymouth Argyle), Jess FISHLOCK (Reading- On loan from OL Reign), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea), Hayley LADD (Manchester United), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool), Anna FILBEY (Tottenham Hotspur), Angharad JAMES (Reading), Nadia LAWRENCE (Cardiff City Ladies), Rachel ROWE (Reading), Natasha HARDING (Reading), Elise HUGHES (Blackburn Rovers- On loan from Everton), Helen WARD (Watford), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion), Josie GREEN (Tottenham Hotspur), Josie LONGHURST (Brighton & Hove Albion), Charlie ESTCOURT (London Bees), Lily WOODHAM (Reading), Maria FRANCIS-JONES (Cardiff City Ladies), Kylie NOLAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Carrie JONES (Manchester United), Cerys JONES (Brighton & Hove Albion), Georgia WALTERS (Blackburn Rovers), Chloe WILLIAMS (Manchester United), Bethan MCGOWAN (Arsenal).

Cymru Squad- Faroe Islands & Norway.png