Twenty-four clubs apply for FAW Tier 1 Licence
14 September 2018

Twenty-four clubs apply for FAW Tier 1 Licence

Twenty-four clubs have applied for the FAW Tier 1 Licence for season 2019/20. The Tier 1 Licence is a prerequisite for participation in the JD Welsh Premier League.

In addition to the current 12 JD Welsh Premier League clubs, 12 Tier 2 clubs have applied for the Tier 1 Licence including; eight from the Huws Gray Alliance League and four from the Welsh Football League (Division 1).

All JD Welsh Premier League clubs have applied for the UEFA Licence, which is a prerequisite for clubs wishing to participate in the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League for season 2019 / 20.

The applications follow 16 successful Tier 1 Licensing Applications and 10 successful UEFA applications at the conclusion of the previous licensing process.

FAW Club Licensing Manager Steven Jones, commented: “We recently met with Tier 2 clubs to discuss all matters relating to licensing and ground criteria with the aim of improving their understanding of the whole process and I am pleased to note the increased number of Tier 2 clubs applying for the Tier 1 Licence.

“The club development aspect of Club Licensing is equally as important as the regulatory side and I am certain that these Tier 2 clubs that have engaged into the process this year will see the benefits to their clubs going forward”.

“I look forward to working with all Licence Applicants again this season”. 

All Applicants are assessed on the following criteria; Sporting, Infrastructure, Personnel, Legal and Finance.


UEFA & Tier 1 Applicants:

Aberystwyth Town

Bala Town

Barry Town United

Caernarfon Town

Cardiff Met University

Carmarthen Town

Cefn Druids

Connah's Quay Nomads


Llanelli Town


The New Saints


Tier 1 Applicants:

Airbus UK Broughton

Bangor City

Buckley Town

Flint Town United

Holywell Town


Prestatyn Town


Briton Ferry

Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC

Haverfordwest County