Twenty-Six clubs apply for Tier 1 Licence
About FAW
2 October 2019

Twenty-Six clubs apply for Tier 1 Licence

Twenty-six clubs have applied for the FAW Tier 1 Licence for the 2020/21 season. The FAW Tier 1 Licence is a prerequisite for participation in the JD Cymru Premier.

In addition to the current 12 JD Cymru Premier clubs, 14 Tier 2 clubs have applied including; 8 from the JD Cymru North and 6 from the JD Cymru South. These include; Colwyn Bay, Cwmamman United and Swansea University who have all applied for the first time. 

The applications follow 16 successful FAW Tier 1 Licensing Applications at the conclusion of the previous licensing process.

FAW Club Licensing Manager Steven Jones, commented: “Its very pleasing to see an increase in the number of  Tier 2 clubs applying for the Tier 1 Licence. This shows that clubs are planning for the future and looking to develop all aspects of their club”.

“We had a helathy number of successful applicant clubs last season (16) and hopefully, by working together we can improve on this number come April 2020” 

“I look forward to working with all Licence Applicants again this season”. 

All Applicants are assessed on the following criteria; Sporting, Infrastructure, Personnel, Legal and Finance.

JD Cymru Premier

  • Aberystwyth Town FC
  • Airbus UK Broughton FC
  • Bala Town FC
  • Barry Town United AFC
  • Caernarfon Town FC
  • Cardiff Met University FC
  • Carmarthen Town AFC
  • Cefn Druids FC
  • Connah's Quay Nomads FC
  • Newtown AFC
  • Penybont FC
  • The New Saints FC


JD Cymru North

  • Bangor City FC
  • Buckley Town FC
  • Colwyn Bay FC
  • Flint Town United FC
  • Llandudno FC
  • Porthmadog FC
  • Prestatyn Town FC
  • Rhyl FC


JD Cymru South

  • Briton Ferry Llansawel FC
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
  • Cwmamman United FC
  • Haverfordwest County FC
  • Llanelli Town FC
  • Swansea University FC