UEFA EURO 2020 Qualifying Draw
28 November 2018

UEFA EURO 2020 Qualifying Draw

Wales are confirmed in pot 2 for the UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying draw, which takes place in Dublin on Sunday (2 December). 

The draw pots were confirmed after all the teams involved in the UEFA Nations League were ranked from 1 to 55 following the conclusion of the league phase of the competition. 

This was established according to the position of the teams in their group, the points gained, their goal difference, goals scored etc.  

In accordance with those rankings, the teams were then placed in the following pots, as detailed on UEFA.com: 

UEFA Nations League pot: UEFA Nations League finalists (4)
Pot 1
: Teams ranked 5th to 10th (6)
Pot 2: Teams ranked 11th to 20th (10)
Pot 3: Teams ranked 21st to 30th (10)
Pot 4: Teams ranked 31st to 40th (10)
Pot 5: Teams ranked 41st to 50th (10)
Pot 6: Teams ranked 51st to 55th (5)

The following details from UEFA.com explain the procedure of Sunday’s draw. 


UEFA Nations League pot (4): Switzerland*, Portugal*, Netherlands*, England*

Pot 1 (6): Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland

Pot 2 (10): Germany, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Ukraine*, Denmark*, Sweden*, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic

Pot 3 (10): Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland*, Norway*, Serbia*, Finland*, Bulgaria, Israel

Pot 4 (10): Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Georgia*

Pot 5 (10): FYR Macedonia*, Kosovo*, Belarus*, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands

Pot 6 (5): Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino

*Already ensured at least a play-off place after winning UEFA Nations League group


The four teams in the UEFA Nations League pot will be drawn into first position in Groups A to D. This is to ensure they have two dates free to play the UEFA Nations League Finals in June.

The teams in Pot 1 will then be drawn into first position in Groups E to J. The teams in Pot 2 will be drawn into second positions in the ten groups, with the draw continuing in similar style for Pots 3, 4 and 5 to fill positions 3, 4 and 5 respectively. The teams in Pot 6 will be drawn into sixth position in the six-team Groups F to J.


The top two teams in each of the ten groups will automatically qualify for UEFA EURO 2020. The remaining four berths will be filled by the play-offs, which are contested by the 16 UEFA Nations League group winners (i.e. the four group winners in each of the four divisions) or the next best-ranked team in their league.

If a league does not have four teams to compete, the remaining slots are allocated to teams from another league, according to the overall UEFA Nations League rankings.


  • 02/12/2018: European Qualifiers group stage draw, Dublin
  • 21–23/03/2019: Matchday one
  • 24–26/03/2019: Matchday two
  • 07–08/06/2019: Matchday three
  • 10–11/06/2019: Matchday four
  • 05–07/09/2019: Matchday five
  • 08–10/09/2019: Matchday six
  • 10–12/10/2019: Matchday seven
  • 13–15/10/2019: Matchday eight
  • 14–16/11/2019: Matchday nine
  • 17–19/11/2019: Matchday ten
  • 22/11/2019: European Qualifiers play-off draw
  • 01/12/2019: UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament draw
  • 26–31/03/2020: European Qualifiers play-offs
  • 01/04/2020: Additional final tournament draw if required
  • 12/06–12/07/2020: UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament