Wales And Finland Draw Thriller In The Cyprus Women's Cup
2 March 2016

Wales And Finland Draw Thriller In The Cyprus Women's Cup

Wales opened their Cyprus Cup account with a 2-2 draw against Finland in Lanarca.

Wales bounced back showing plenty of determination with two equalising goals in their opening game of the Cyprus Cup in Lanarca.

Adelina Engman put Finland ahead after 10 minutes before Kayleigh Green equalised near the end of the first half.

Maija Saari took back the lead for Finland but with under ten minutes to go it was Nadia Lawrence with the cross that led to Chloe Chivers’ late header into the back of the net, rescuing a draw for Wales Women.

Manager Jayne Ludlow commented on their performance: “A great result today coming from behind twice in the game. Our opponents Finland are ranked 12 places above us, so a good solid performance to build on in the rest of the competition.

“Goalkeeper Laura O Sullivan had her 1st cap and Chloe Chivers came on and scored on her debut as a 17 year old. The players are extremely focused and determined to compete in this competition.

“There are things to develop but I’m happy with the result against the 2nd ranked team in the competition.”

Poland provide the next opposition for Jayne Ludlow and her side in Paralimni on Friday, and they will need to watch out for free-scoring midfielder Dominika Grabowska, who has a 100% scoring record so far in the qualifying campaign. Wales face Poland on Friday 4th March in the next round of the Cyprus Women’s Cup, KO 12:30 GMT.

The final Group B match will again take place in Paralimni next Monday when Wales face Stanislav Krejcik's Czech Republic, who suffered a 5-1 reverse to Switzerland last December.

The final positions will be decided on Wednesday, 9th March, with fixtures taking place in both Paralimni and Larnaca.


Jo Price (Newcastle Emlyn), Laura O'Sullivan, Kayleigh Green (both Cardiff City Ladies), Jess Fishlock (Seattle Reign), Angharad James, Hayley Ladd, Loren Dykes (all Bristol WFC), Sophie Ingle, Natasha Harding (both Liverpool Ladies), Laura-May Walkley, Rachel Rowe, Nia Jones, Helen Ward, Charlie Estcourt (all Reading Ladies), Rhiannon Roberts (Doncaster Rovers Belles), Nadia Lawrence, Nicola Cousins, Ellie Curson (both Yeovil Town Ladies), Amelia Ritchie (Brighton Ladies), Chloe Chivers, Shaunna Jenkins (Cwmbran Celtic), Chloe O'Connor (Cardiff Met Ladies).