Wales squad announced for Cyprus Cup
13 February 2018

Wales squad announced for Cyprus Cup

Jayne Ludlow has named a strong Wales Women's squad for the upcoming Cyprus Cup tournament. 

Wales have been placed in Group A alongside Finland, Italy and Switzerland, and will be keen to improve on last years 6th place finish.

Captain Sophie Ingle will again lead a squad that includes centurion Jess Fishlock, while the Orchard Welsh Premier Women's League is represented by Swansea City's Ellie Lake together with Cyncoed duo Laura O'Sullivan and Gwen Davies.

Lake and Davies are two of three uncapped players named along with Elise Hughes of Everton, while Amina Vine, Alice Griffiths and Nadia Lawrence will represent the Wales Performance Squad.

Helen Ward and Charlie Estcourt both scored Wales in each of the last two Cyprus Cup tournaments, and are also included in Ludlow's squad of 24 players.

The competition starts for Wales against Finland on 28 February, and will end on 7 March when the final places will be decided.

This will be the third year in succession that Wales have competed at the tournament, and the four fixtures will form a crucial part of Ludlow's preparation for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup qualifier away to England in April.

Wales conceded just once in four games during the Cyprus Cup tournament last year, and the defensive improvement has continued into the current World Cup qualifying campaign.

Ludlow's side currently sit top Group 1 after four games and are yet to concede a goal at the midway point. Following the match against England, Wales will end the qualifying campaign with three home games during the summer.

Twelve nations will once again compete for the Cyprus Cup this year, and once the three groups of four have been completed, a further round of games will take place on the final day to decide the overall standings.

Last year Wales were denied a 5th place finish through a penalty shoot-out defeat to Scotland. For more information on the tournament visit

Wales Squad

Claire Skinner (Oxford United Women)

Laura O'Sullivan (Cyncoed Ladies)

Loren Dykes (Bristol City Women)

Sophie Ingle (Liverpool Ladies)

Hayley Ladd (Birmingham City Ladies)

Rhiannon Roberts (Doncaster Rovers Belles)

Amina Vine (Wales Performance Squad)

Rachel Rowe (Reading Women)

Ellie Lake (Swansea City Ladies)

Elise Hughes (Everton Ladies)

Jess Fishlock (Seattle Reign)

Alice Griffiths (Wales Performance Squad)

Angharad James (Everton Ladies)

Gwen Davies (Cyncoed Ladies)

Nadia Lawrence (Wales Performance Squad)

Helen Ward (Watford Ladies)

Natasha Harding (Reading Ladies)

Gemma Evans (Yeovil Town Ladies)

Chloe Chivers (Oxford United Women)

Charlie Estcourt (Bristol City Women, on loan from Reading Women)

Kylie Nolan (Bristol City Women)

Melissa Fletcher (Reading Women)

Kayleigh Green (Yeovil Town Ladies)

Hannah Miles (Yeovil Town Ladies) 


Cyprus Cup 2018


Group A – Finland, Italy, Switzerland, Wales.

Group B – Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Spain.

Group C – Hungary, Korea DPR, Slovakia, South Africa,


GSZ Stadium (Larnaca), GSP Stadium (Nicisia), Tasos Marko (Paralimni), Ammochostos Stadium (Larnaca), Antonis Papadopulos (Larnaca), AEK Arena (Larnaca). 

Fixtures (all times are local and all venues to be confirmed – all subject to change)


28 February

Group A – Finland v Wales (1pm) and Italy v Switzerland (6pm)

Group B – Belgium v Czech Republic (1pm) and Austria v Spain (6pm)

Group C – Slovakia v South Africa (1pm) and Hungary v Korea DPR (6pm)


2 March

Group A – Wales v Italy (1pm) and Switzerland v Finland (6pm)

Group B – Czech Republic v Austria (1pm) and Spain v Belgium (6pm)

Group C – Korea DPR v Slovakia (1pm) and South Africa v Hungary (6pm)


5 March

Group A – Finland v Italy (1pm) and Switzerland v Wales (1pm)

Group B – Belgium v Austria (6pm) and Spain v Czech Republic (6pm)

Group C – South Africa v Korea DPR (1pm) and Hungary v Slovakia (6pm)


7 March

Final Day – Kick-off times to be confirmed.